River Road Oregon Ill.

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by hotshott, Apr 19, 2013.

1. hotshott

hotshott The "Bass-Tard" Son

Been spending a few days on the river in Oregon.. After an entire nite of heavy rainfall, The river has risen above the floodstage of 13.00ft. and is expected to crest at 17.20. Currently at 16.9, I am returning on Saturday morning to survey damage and to take photos. These pics were taken 4/18.
    Water level at 15.6 when these pics were snapped. If your going to camp along the river,,, You had better know how to read the hydrograph. I have been camping out here for 15 years and have never seen water this high. The floor of my camper is at 19.7 ft. This was done with the aid of a digital transit and roto beam. Unfortunately, Some are not going to be so lucky.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Apr 22, 2013
  2. Stratojaxter

Stratojaxter Well-Known Member

Wow! That's just crazy. I hope your camper is ok.

3. Shooter

Shooter Administrator Staff Member Administrator

Is it starting to go down?

4. hotshott

High Tide.

I have just returned from the Rock River in Oregon Ill. It was an impressive site to say the least. Pics posted today are after crest of 17.20 inches. I got out here on Friday eve. and arrived at the campground at 8 am Sat. morning. This is the main driveway off of River road.

Attached Files:

5. hotshott

A few pics from the road..

Attached Files:

6. hotshott

Pics from the lodge.

I waded into the lodge for a cup of coffee. The owners do not leave unless power goes out. In this case it remained power on and only power to the campers was shut down. Com-Ed is out here for the next 3 weeks doing upgrades and underground service to campers who want to foot the bill.

Attached Files:

7. hotshott

Wildwood/Grande Villa.