Powder measures

Discussion in 'Ammo & Reloading' started by Pistol_Packin_Preacher, Jan 30, 2017.

1. Pistol_Packin_Preacher

Pistol_Packin_Preacher Well-Known Member

Hello Bersa brothers and sisters!

I am just getting into reloading.
    The last few years I have been picking up the supplies.
    Most all I have is RCBS.
    Press is Rock Chucker Supreme.
    Just had my first lesson last night!
    The gentleman who taught me on his bench uses a powder measure and a mechanical scale.
    I do have the slide scale and a RCBS Rangemaster 1500.

So I have two questions:

1) What am I looking for in a good powder measure? Do you have any that you would recommend? I will be reloading both rifle and handgun with the bulk being handgun. And I like to go the next step up so I am not starting to get it down and realize the next step up would take care of a lot more.

2) How accurate are the digital scales? Do you trust them? I realize my teacher was old school and he does not trust them. Yet my wife works at a chemical manufacturer and she talk to the plant employees and they felt digital scales were fine - you just made sure they were occasionally calibrated.

At this point I do not feel the need of a progressive press since I will not reload to those types of capacities.
    It is mostly for plinking, target, home defense, and self defense.
    I do want to get the best accuracy as possible.
    Main calibers I will be reloading are .357 Mag, 38 Sp, 9MM, .44 Mag, .44 Sp, .223, 5.56MM, .22-250, and .243.

Any advice in these areas is greatly appreciated.
    No matter how insignificant you feel it is, it may be significant to me!
    I have been perusing the reloading section of the forum reading about various components and tips.
    The thought of kidnapping Greg for a month did cross my mind!

God bless!!

Michael

2. Pistol_Packin_Preacher

Pistol_Packin_Preacher Well-Known Member

Warning against what???