Concealed Carry Permits

Discussion in 'Conceal & Open Carry & 2nd Amendment' started by SHOOTER13, Oct 5, 2012.

  1. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporter

    5,606
    117
    So, who here has a state issued permit to carry a concealed firearm...

    And what kind of hoops do you have to jump through to get one...are you finger printed...asked to show firearm proficiency...do classroom time ?!

    Let's talk about the rules of your state...
     
  2. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporter

    5,606
    117
    In Pennsylvania, a LTCF ( License to Carry a Firearm ) is required by the state.

    Once the citizen passes a background check by the local PD / Sheriff, the background

    check card and the LTCF form is taken to the county seat...in Montgomery county, it is

    the Norristown Court House...where the form is reviewed and two pictures are taken...

    one for the license and one for the file.

    The permit is good for 5 years and the laminated card with photo is assembled at

    the county seat for $50...cheaper paper versions are available.

    There is no requirement for classroom or proficiency training...as it is a shall issue state.

    Open carry is allowed without a permit...but as soon as you get into a vehicle without one,

    the firearm must be unloaded and secured away from the driver.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2012

  3. stanger1944

    stanger1944 Well-Known Member

    58
    0
    I do not have a concealed carry permit at this time but not to get anything started. The second ammendment says the right to keep and bear arms. So requiring a concealed carry permit is already violating our second ammendment rights. Just getting that off my chest.
     
  4. hobbles

    hobbles Junior Member

    369
    0
    After noon Shooter13,
    I have mine
    [​IMG],

    and here is what we have to go through to get it. We have to hit the blue 11 out of 20 shots, I fired 11 shots and quit.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. zekest

    zekest Active Member

    33
    0
    Oregon is a "Must Issue" state.
    If you apply and meet qualifications, the state "Must Issue" a concealed carry permit.
    I took three classes, and received a cert from each. I needed two references. I downloaded the paperwork from the web, filled it in, and mailed it in. Three weeks later I received an appointment, which meant I passed the background check. Went down for the appointment, showed one cert, got digital fingerprinted, they took a nice picture, and my carry permit was issued on the spot. The people who work there are really nice.
    There is no shooting qualification. The permit allows you to carry anything legal.
    My wife and I received our permits at the same time.
     
  6. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporter

    5,606
    117
    My 2 cents...

    OH...I hear ya stanger !!

    A right is NOT a privledge that can be granted by the state at their whim and should not cost you a dime...

    Having said that...I put up with what they require so that I can protect myself...from legal prosecution and civil suit.
     
  7. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporter

    5,606
    117
    Mr. hobbles...well done !!
     
  8. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporter

    5,606
    117
    zekest...

    Thanks for sharing that info...

    My wife and daughter both have their LTCF's too !!
     
  9. shortydoowop138

    shortydoowop138 Active Member

    41
    0
    I live in "The People's Republic of California" & it's a PITA to get a CCW.. I just got my "guard card" to do security so that should make it a little bit easier to get it.. I don't tote my .380 everyday, 1 of my 3 blades is my EDC.. If I have to go down to LA or 1 of the bigger cities, I'll slip it into the glovebox.. Better to be judged by 12 than carried by 6.
     
  10. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporter

    5,606
    117
    Heard that shorty...!
     
  11. hobbles

    hobbles Junior Member

    369
    0
    Yep, I agree.
     
  12. BurgerBoy

    BurgerBoy Well-Known Member

    101
    0
    I also have a Kentucky CCDW License. It looks just like yours. Same picture and everything.
     
  13. hobbles

    hobbles Junior Member

    369
    0
    Afternoon BB,
    I kinda hope the picture looks different on your.
     
  14. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporter

    5,606
    117
  15. OhioBountyHunter

    OhioBountyHunter Member

    19
    0
    Mine is Ohio. I had to take a 12 Hr. course. 10 hr. classroom and 2 hr. range (if I remember right). The course was $200 (They are cheaper now) and $70 or $75 to file the app. with the sheriff office. Laminated card good for 5 years. The sheriff office took the picture for free. The course certificate is good for 6 years.
     
  16. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporter

    5,606
    117
    Wow...Ohio has some tough standards...thanks for sharing OBH !!
     
  17. BT380

    BT380 Well-Known Member

    118
    0
    Alabama is an open carry state, no permit needed to open carry. For a concealed permit for me was go to the Sheriff's office, pay $20 bucks, pass the background check and go your merry way. Renewal is same each year. Easy to get no hoops of any kind.
     
  18. David

    David Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

    507
    0
    Louisiana is an open carry state, but I'm not a big fan of open carry.

    Concealed handgun license (CHL) is for five years. Permit costs $125; half that for old people. Mandatory 8 hour course, but I don't know how much of that is outdoor. Range qualification is to be able to hit your target: 12 out of 12 at six feet, 12 out of 12 at 12 feet, and another 12 out of 12 at 15 feet. When any peace officer approaches a permittee in an official manner, permittee is also required to, : 1) notify the officer that he has a weapon on his person, 2) submit to a pat-down, and 3) allow the officer to disarm the permittee.

    Yes, I carry a Bersa.
     
  19. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporter

    5,606
    117
    Thanks for the contributions to this thread gentlemen...

    Let's see how many states we have now...

    PA
    AR
    KY
    OR
    CA
    OH
    AL
    LA
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2012
  20. BersaOwner

    BersaOwner Well-Known Member

    179
    0
    The state of Indiana issues a permit to carry and does not specify so you may carry open or concealed. But open carry is permitted but highly frowned upon due to the many gun-haters that will report you doing something wrong.:eek:
    You can open carry without a permit to & from gun shop/gunsmith, to & from the range or personal defence class, or you can carry while hunting as a backup weapon.
    Some counties in Indiana can do their application for handgun permit on-line here is the link.(it takes less time to receive your permit if you do it on-line)
    http://aries.in.gov/Firearms/Permit.aspx
    No need to take any class or prove proficiency to get a carry permit.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2012